"I had the right to remain silent... but I didn't have the ability."
Driving Under the Influence
If you’ve been accused of a D.U.I., you may feel alone or frightened. When there is no one else to turn to, the law firm of Tangi A. Carter, offers you the experience and skill you can trust. She has defended clients against D.U.I. convictions for over 25 years. If you are facing a D.U.I. conviction, contact the law firm of Tangi A. Carter today to receive a consultation.
What is the penalty for a DUI in Mississippi?
The penalties are severe in Mississippi for driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. You can face losing your driver’s license, be required to pay heavy fines, and even potentially face jail time if you are convicted of a D.U.I. You can be arrested for a D.U.I. in Mississippi if your blood alcohol level is 0.08% (or 0.02% if you are under 21 years of age). You can still receive a D.U.I. if your blood alcohol content is under these limits. Mississippi is an “implied consent” state, meaning that you can be required to take a blood alcohol test if you are stopped by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you might have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Any driver, who chooses to operate a motor vehicle in the state, consents to submit to these drug or alcohol tests. Refusing to take the test can result in harsh penalties. You can face a driver’s license suspension up to 210 days the first time you refuse to take a test.
If you have been accused of a DUI in Hattiesburg, MS, you might feel scared and alone, or feel like you are facing insurmountable obstacles. While it might seem difficult, the law provides avenues to allow for you to defend yourself in court. If you have been accused of a crime in Hattiesburg, MS, you need a criminal defense lawyer who understands the law and who can help you protect your freedom and interests. You may be facing license suspension, jail time, and fines. Fortunately, there are ways to protect yourself after your DUI arrest. With so much at stake, you need a DUI defense lawyer who can help you build a strong case.
D.U.I.s carry the additional consequences of leading to higher insurance premiums. The conviction will remain on your driving record, as well. Furthermore, in order to get your license reinstated, even after you have served your time, you may face having to attend an alcohol and drug rehabilitation program, paying a $175 reinstatement fee, and take another driving test. With so much at stake, it is important that you seek the help of a skilled D.U.I. defense attorney in Hattiesburg, Mississippi if you have been accused of a D.U.I. The firm of Tangi A. Carter has over 25 years of experience helping clients mount a sound defense against their D.U.I. accusation. Make the choice to protect your driving record, your freedom, and your right to drive today. Contact us today! We can help.